top of page
  • Writer's pictureJACY SORRIBATTAROFF

Semester #2 Blog #2

As of right now, I have submitted all of my college applications and planning to take computer science as my major. Throughout high school, I have been in the Project Lead the Way program going over many different fields of engineering, and out of everything I have done I loved all of the online work, and love of the idea of coding which is why I have made my choice of major, engineering.


One of the most famous people in this field is John McCarthy. McCarthy was known as a computer scientist and a cognitive scientist. McCarthy went and got a bachelor's degree in mathematics at Caltech and a Ph.D., also in mathematics at Princeton University. No, I don't believe he had to complete any internship before he got his job since he was good with the bachelor's degree and Ph.D. If I were to describe McCarthy in 5 words it would be, "The father of artificial intelligence. I chose to research McCarthy since he was one of the main founders of artificial intelligence making him someone very respected within the computer science field. What I really like about McCarthy's career is his contributions to A.I. and how he is the one widely credited for naming the term. I also like how he worked with chess programming since mixing my two likings of programming and chess is great.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Semester #2 Blog #1

Second Semester of Senior Year: I am pretty excited for my last semester at SAMO and that's for a few reasons. The main one is just graduating and getting out of here which is great, but I am also exc

Blog Entry 3: JPL invention project

The Jet Propulsion Laboratory was an amazing experience to go through since I got to gather with my classmates to create our invention that would compete. The things that went well during the project

Things happening in life

At the moment days are going by extremely fast with it being senior year and all of the college related assignments being put towards me, I believe I am behind on some things so I will need to catch u

bottom of page